Sadness is an Art


 photo 4abd4e3c-2a39-463d-95eb-e212598456a2_zpsxv2knbyi.jpg

Pounding in my head, suitcase, 

packed full of memories, shame

they’re all bad, war in my mind,

brain in dispute with my heart.

Careful, I’ve turned sadness

into my art, a parable I share

with the naive world, enough 

can be enough, love doesn’t save.

It’s hard to fathom how I could

turn and walk away, yet I did.

Tried to mark me as yours,

whistling the same old birdsong.

You couldn’t understand the 

crack running through my soul.

Like eating forbidden fruit, I

can see you were no good.

Filled with knowledge I never 

wanted, I’ll continue on my own.

No goodbyes, or happy endings.

The movie just stops………..

abruptly.

Donetta Sifford 4-10-2015

Written for:  Sunday’s WhirlgigSunday's Whirligig logo

