Spring List and Kids


Mama Kat’s Writing Workshop

The Prompts:

1. Write a list of your top Spring must-haves.
2. Something your kids said that made you laugh.
3. What is an unpleasant experience you had eating? Write a poem, paragraph, or something else about the experience.
4. Write a blog post inspired by the word: Inspired.
5. Tell the story of a mistake made in the kitchen.
6. Write about someone who made your childhood bearable.

Top Spring must-haves:

1.        A pull over hoodie for any occasion since the weather in my area can be unpredictable this time of year.  I also am cold natured or need iron pills.   

2.         A very comfortable, yet fashionable pair of flip flops.  I truly dislike shoes and socks on my feet.  However, stores frown upon barefeet, plus it’s gross to walk into public places and not know what I may step in.  I want them to be cute enough to match most outfits.

3.         I always have my phone’s camera ready to snap pictures, but I’m planning on investing on a good camera.  I love being outside when the weather is warm and I adore photos.

4.          Normally for my oldest daughter some type of allergy medicine is required.  I’ve never suffered from allergies but I can tell she is miserable at times.

5.            My youngest daughter is light complected, so sunscreen is a must this time of year.

This is a short list but I really liked all the prompts.  These made the Top 5.  Right off the top of my head, the funniest thing lately my youngest daughter said to me was a few weeks ago when she needed me awake.  She put her stuffed animal in my face and was making snoring/snorting sounds.  I ask her what in the world she was doing.  Her reply between giggles was, “You were snoring like a pig so I made “Teddy” copy you.”  I couldn’t help but laugh.  Kids do say the darndest things and the truth seems to come out of their mouths with no filters.  I can’t be the only parent who has had my child say something honest and in innocence not realizing they may be hurting someone’s feelings.  I really appreciate the adults who understand they are children and just being curious.  I’ve even met some amazing adults who has answered my daughters’ without being offended.  Now both my girls are old enough to know better and not just blurt out what’s on their minds.

Anyone have any suggestions to add to my list, or has your child said something that only innocence allows?

7 responses

  1. I’m definitely going to need new flip flops! Last years shoes are worn out!

  2. Love your Spring Must Haves! I am a transplanted So Cal girl so I know the ins and outs of flip flops! They sure make life good, don’t they? Stopping by from Mama Kat’s!

    1. I’d love to visit So. Cal.

  3. Stopping by from Mama Kat!

    I agree w/ you on the hoodie. I am in Seattle, so even during the Spring, a hoodie is needed. Flip flops….I know I am in the minority, but I cannot stand them. They look cute on some people, I am just not one of those people. 😉

    1. I know what you mean because up until a few years ago, flip flops just weren’t for me. Then I bought a pair from Gander Mountain and they were great.

  4. Flip flops? Oh my feet are still held captive in blasted socks and….AND because mother nature is still drunk we have snow falling as we speak. It’s not sticking thank goodness but man is it ever cold out!! I miss flip flops!!
    My son has an Angry Bird stuffed pig and it actually makes the snorting noises. So he likes to do that to me too in the morning 🙂 Little stinkers!!

    1. That’s funny about the Angry Bird snorting pig. lol. There’s been a time or two that Mother Nature has staggered back and forth here. The temps dropped but not too bad. I’m holding my breath and hoping April showers bring May flowers.

