Suboxone Addiction: Symptoms, Side Effects, Withdrawal, Detox, and Rehab


https://www.thefix.com/content/suboxone-addiction

Being addicted to opiates can seem like a never ending circle. From trying to deal with the withdrawal symptoms of heroin, oxycodone, and other opiates to beginning treatment at an outpatient Methadone Clinic. Realizing that this is another form of addiction most people turn to Suboxone or Subutex which is prescribed by a doctor licsensed to write these prescriptions. It is draining and tiring to learn that detoxing from these also causes withdrawal symptoms.
I myself have been in this cycle from hell for over 15 years. I don’t have all the answers. What I do hope to accomplish is helping others with addiction and dependency problems. I also hope by sharing my story, maybe a few will realize how dangerous this vicious cycle can be, emotionally and physically, and choose not to go down the same path.
I have two daughters, the oldest just turned 13 in July. That’s the age I had already begin a lifetime of wrong choices. I am completely honest with my children about the consequences of choosing drugs.
I used to laugh at a commercial that aired in 1995 which stated “weed is a gateway drug to harder drugs”. I was high from weed and so naturally this seemed funny. Fast forward to today, I no longer find humor in the face of seriousness. I realized the truth in those words.
My reasons for trying any drugs have long been swept under the rug. What remains is trying to take my addiction on a day to day basis.
Addiction has been classified as a disease the same as diabetes. Perhaps it is. I am bipolar, with anxiety, obsessive compulsive disorder, and depression. Although my mental illness began before drug use, the two walk hand in hand.
I am thinking of a short e-book on my problems with addiction and answers I have found, as well as answers I still seek.
Everyone’s pumped up for NaNoMo. I may use this time and step away from poetry for a month in order to share my struggles and triumphs.
Any thoughts…. please share.

2 responses

  1. I’m very proud of you fighting your addiction. I had a cousin who died at 26 due to complications of an oxycontin addiction. It began after a motorcycle accident in which he was prescribed pain pills. I like your response about it is immaterial the start. You can’t burning the bell. Write the book. I think it will help others. That logical mojo you got going will certainly inspire others.
    Take care kid.

    1. Thank you so much. Sorry about your cousin. A lot of times doctors will write prescriptions and then leave the patient on their own. I appreciate your time.

