Knocking On My Door


Who’s that knocking at the door?
Pounding like my head from the night before.
I’d decided to drown my memories with Patron.
I’m a bitter soul since left alone.
Tequila shots with no salt or lime.
Bartender kept pouring until closing time.
Guess my car knew it’s way home.
Woke up hungover and on my own.
Now it’s too early for company.
Casual chatter is an impossibility.
Who’s that knocking at the door?
Why should I be burdened with more.
Aquaintances always needy, too demanding.
Frankly I don’t feel like I should be standing.
I’ll crawl to the kitchen for a hangover cure.
Bloody Mary on ice, perhaps three or four.
This is the wreck she left me in.
Feel lower than I’ve ever been.
Who’s that knocking at the door.
Who I was doesn’t live here anymore.
Thought the whole town knew that already.

This is a poetry prompt for Yeah Write. While I usually don’t write rhyming poetry, the mood for the prompt question insisted on rhyming schemes in my mind. Enjoy.

Donetta

4 responses

  1. This is a sad state of affairs.

  2. Hurtful memories and Patron, wicked combination…nice poem!

  3. “Aquaintances always needy, too demanding.
    Frankly I don’t feel like I should be standing.”
    Some great rhyming here.

    1. Thank you. I normally prefer free verse.

