Rushing Life


 

 

airport

image provided by Magpie Tales

Departing in a rush

’tis the season for hurrying 

so I have no time to decipher our last minute kiss.

The budding questions of romance, the first kiss lingering, wonder filled, hopeful, and lasting.

Even now as I open gifts, enjoying family and friends,

I have forgotten the reasons for running back into your arms before we boarded different flights.

Though I’ve tried,  I don’t remember the feel of your lips,  the taste is gone, and I silently damn the nature of humans to just get through one moment and scurry to the next. 

written for Magpie Tales  299 – Donetta Sifford 

10 responses

  1. So very true and beautifully said! 🙂

    1. Thank you very much.

  2. perhaps to meet again! Cheers!

    1. Perhaps… this could be a sequel

  3. …maybe another pluckering with him will help you remember.

  4. That is the paradox of living in the moment, isn’t it? Well done!

    1. Thank you for dropping by.

  5. so human !….yes….well said!

