Running Through Rain


image
A prompt from Magpie Tales

I once thought of running
                 Away from lonely days, away from thoughts unbecoming, away from the person I am
                   I once thought rain was cleansing, as my shiny black church shoes splashed against the wet pavement
                  Once life seemed fulfilling, rain seemed gloomy on cloudy days, and I longed to be inside warming my feet near the fire
                   Running from my problems holds less charm than it once held, gracefully fixing my troubles is the trend right now.
                   Right as rain, and so on.

Donetta Sifford

2 responses

  1. ‘shiny black church shoes’ ~ captured my fancy and triggered many memories (good and bad.)

    1. Sorry it triggered bad memories. Thank you for commenting.

