Who You Become


d0cb6dec79e89b5dbe34d2e348afd6c4

wearing my pain like a scarlet letter on my chest, vulnerable and exposed, tears falling in rhythm with your laughter. how can one person be so cruel?

does it make you feel better to know your words hurt me, lay my soul bare, bring me to my knees?

what gives you the right to look down upon me from the pedestal you painted yourself on?

this doesn’t feel like the love that you promised.

this feels more like fire and brimstone.

my world is in shambles, you took from me all that you could.

still I wouldn’t trade my heartache for a day in the sun if it meant causing you a moment of sadness.

I cannot be the vengeful person you’ve become.

This was written by Donetta Sifford for Julie Zantopoulos‘ 1st writing prompt on her new blog.

 

