September


 

September has always been

the hardest month for me.

I walk these dirt roads

smelling the honeysuckle

feeling the sun on my back

the air slightly shifting cooler.

Leaves secretly changing.

Red, orange, yellow, and brown

splashing over the mountains.

She died the year before

the Twin  Towers crumbled.

Still, for me, she cannot be gone

no more than gravity or the moon.

The Appalachian Mountains

shares it’s beauty everywhere.

I see gray skies and black clouds.

September has always been

the hardest month for me.

Understated.

 

Written for Yeah Write

 

 

5 responses

  1. !!!! My grandmother died two days after the Sept 11 attacks. I wrote a very similar poem so this one hit me right in the heart. Autumn was a terrifically difficult time for me for many years. Nice job. Beautifully written!

  2. Loved this line…the air slightly shifting cooler

  3. There was a melancholy quality to this from start to finish. The real zinger was midway through tho. I love this: “Still, for me, she cannot be gone – no more than gravity or the moon.”

  4. Isn’t grief such a living thing? It can darken the beauty. I like the way you ended this, as though even these poignant words understate the pain you feel.

  5. This is breezy just like an autumn day. I feel your grief in the slow, melodic pace. Good job.

