Liars


There will always be 

my side,  your side , 

with the truth in between. 

 Oh, but the truth can be

manipulated.

Memories revised, facts unsaid,

minds that change.

It’s our lies that never falter.

Wrapping  us in comfort.

When all else falls apart,

 they cradle our heads,

lull us to sleep at night. 

When is enough ever enough? 

I hear you saying, 

“I can’t recall.”

No more. I am done.

I cannot accept 

your recollection 

when you claim forgetfulness.

I’m a liar.

So are you.

I can sleep with my fable.

Written for Yeah Write

8 responses

  1. The vertical format of the poem makes a physical barrier that almost mirrors the emotional barrier you’re describing.

    1. Thank you for your feedback.

  2. “I can sleep with my fable” struck a chord with me. If everyone lies, the least we can do is come to grips and learn to accept the things we have said. Well written!

    1. Thank you. I try to be honest but sometimes we all tell a lie. So, I try to make sure I can sleep with it. lol

  3. sanchwrites

    I do believe that the truth is always somewhere in the middle. Loved the way you have described the comfort in our lies — what we believe in is what helps us sleep at night. Great piece!

    1. Thank you so much. I am glad you liked it.

  4. I like how you chose to personify the lies “we” tell. It made me think of marionettes (they cradle our heads/lull us to sleep at night). I think the crux of the poem rests on those three opening lines; that the truth is what is coming between these two people.

    1. Thank you for your feedback and stopping by!

