Mad Girl’s Love Song


I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead; 
I lift my lids and all is born again. 
(I think I made you up inside my head.) 

The stars go waltzing out in blue and red, 
And arbitrary blackness gallops in: 
I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead. 

I dreamed that you bewitched me into bed 
And sung me moon-struck, kissed me quite insane. 
(I think I made you up inside my head.) 

God topples from the sky, hell’s fires fade:
Exit seraphim and Satan’s men: 
I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead. 

I fancied you’d return the way you said, 
But I grow old and I forget your name. 
(I think I made you up inside my head.) 

I should have loved a thunderbird instead;
At least when spring comes they roar back again. 
I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead. 
(I think I made you up inside my head.) ‘

by Sylvia Plath

My part time obsession with Sylvia Plath began when someone in a poetry group compared my poetry to Plath’s.  She meant it in the best way possible. How was she to know I had heard Plath’s name during my lifetime but had never really read her work.  Of course, after being compared to a poet who is considered amazing,  I had to find out all I could.  Sadly, Plath’s suicide has made her famous and her writing tends to be overlooked.  It was a joy for me to buy The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath.  I am honored that anyone has read my poems and compared my writing to someone like Plath. Enjoy this poem.

