Bluffing and Second Spring


mama kat's workshop

Quotation-Jeannette-Walls-play-Meetville-Quotes-11564

This is one of my favorite quotes.  I read it in Jeannette Walls’ memoir “The Glass Castle”.  It has been several years since reading the book, and at least twice, re-reading.  One of my favorite memoirs.  This quote is inspiring to me.  I have always heard the phrase, “that’s the cards I was dealt.”  So, to me, this quote speaks volumes.  I suppose if you look at life as if you’re giving certain cards and have to play your hand, learn to bluff.  “Fake it til you make it” type mentality.

Albert-Camus-Quote

This quote come to mind because of Autumn and I love how optimistic this sounds.  My favorite season is summer.  Autumn is spectacular where I live though and I love the crisp breeze, the many colors, and just the feel of Fall. 

These quotes were written for Mama Kat’s Writing Workshop.  Enjoy. 

Published by Donetta

Donetta is a Freelance Writer residing in VA. Her poems have appeared in The Mystic Blue Review, Spillwords and Ink & Voices. She writes articles on Medium and HubPages.

4 thoughts on “Bluffing and Second Spring

    1. Humor gets me through the darkest days. Her sense of humor about the conditions of her life make her memoir both sad, yet funny. Very endurable. I found this to be true with Mary Karr’s memoirs “The Liars’ Club” and “Cherry”. I would definitely recommend Walls and Karr.

      Like

Comments are closed.

Discover more from Donetta Writes

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading